Lindy Callahan (right) with his wife Ann. Photo by Keith Warren

Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes named for 2017

Sixteen seniors from across the state have been selected as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for 2017.

The honorees — one boy and one girl from high schools in each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities.

Each winner will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners like BankPlus, Mississippi Sports Medicine, C Spire, Polk’s Meat Products and the Mississippi Department of Human Services.

The 16 scholar-athletes will be honored April 10th  in Jackson at the 22nd  annual banquet. The event will be livestreamed on the NFHS Network’s Mississippi channel at .

Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for 2017

Bo Thomas Boy Mooreville 1
Abby Kensington Pitts Girl Booneville 1
Riley Hall Bogue Boy West Union 2
Swayze Elliott Girl Oxford 2
Christian Hannah Boy Gentry 3
Kimberly Thomas Girl Humphreys County 3
Jake Fanning Boy Neshoba Central 4
Shanika Musser Girl Starkville 4
Steven Sasser Boy South Jones 5
Kelly Bator Girl Meridian 5
Randy Townsend Boy Ridgeland 6
Kaelyn Thompson Girl Pearl 6
Ryan Ivey Boy North Pike 7
Courtney Wyant Girl Loyd Star 7
Corbin J. Blanchard Boy Saint Stanislaus 8
Kennedy Runnels Girl Petal 8


Check Also

2022 MHSAA Class 5A Girls Basketball Bracket

2022 MHSAA Class 5A Girls Basketball Bracket